top of page

Mees wins Troy Bayliss Classic in Australia

Four-time AMA Grand National champion Jared Mees became the first dual winner of the Troy Bayliss Cup at Taree. In the 21-lap Classic, Mees shot to the lead at the start but wasn’t afforded an easy race.

Herfoss and inaugural Troy Bayliss Cup winner Mick Kirkness pressured the international throughout the race but were unable to find a way past, eventually finishing second and third respectively.

“I finally got the start I had been looking for all day, but I knew Troy (Herfoss) would be a big threat,” Mees said.

“Thankfully, I was able to hold on for the win and hopefully I will be back to defend my title.

“I want to thank Troy and Kim Bayliss for bringing me out. What they are doing to raise the profile of flat track racing in Australia is truly incredible.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page